a good week

A couple of really good things happened this week.

First of all, Kris and I planned a trip back east to do the Marine Corps Marathon in Washington DC this October.  The kids will stay with my parents for four days while we enjoy this adventure.  It turns out that 7 other people from our running club are planning to go too, so we’ll be able to enjoy the company of friends while there. 

It’s really nice to have a race on the horizon again.  Although, as I’m also ramping to do a couple of triathlons in the next couple of months, things will be very busy.

The other nice thing that happened was that I was able to run my fastest mile in months on the track.  Kris and I joined the Eastside Runners track workout on Wednesday evening for a 4 mile tempo run.  I did the first three with her, and then stepped it up for the last mile – completing it in about 6:45.  It was challenging, but I also didn’t feel impossibly winded.  When I feel confident in my leg’s ability to withstand long mileage, I might reintroduce speed workouts.

This weekend I’ll try stepping my long run mileage up to 18.  If I can do this without pain, it constitutes an important milestone.  I I do have pain, it’ll be a long marathon in October.

Back to triathlons for a sec … I’ve become interested in them while cross training this year.  I’m regularly biking up to 30 miles, and have done a bike/run workout that includes 30 mile bike/6 mile run, so I figure I might as well get credit for doing this. 

While at Seabeck last week, I did some lap swimming in the lagoon.  It was a mixed bag – I was able to swim laps for about 30 minutes.  On the other hand I struggled to take in enough air and swam like a clumsy, out of shape dolt.  I know I’m in shape to swim that long, so this is simply needing to work on form and cadence.  I also had some apprehension about swimming in open water (murky salt water at that).

I did an 1800 meter workout yesterday in the pool at the gym.  This went better than the lagoon swims.  I was able to keep a pretty steady pace (although still got slower the more I swam).  I warmed up and cooled down with some kicking, and mixed in some breast stroke to recover.  Kris has suggested some coached swim workouts for the next three weeks to get me over the training hump.  We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

