paying off a bet

Yesterday, my father and I went to see the Mariners play their next-to-last game of the season.  I’d not been to a game since the day before my bicycle accident.

Oddly, yesterday’s game was an occasion to pay off an unusual bet.  Seven years ago, I placed a wager with my longest-time friend Doron, who resides in New Jersey and has been a Yankee fan as long as I’ve known him (when we were 3!).  I don’t like the Yankees, having been a Mets fan for about as long.

You’ll recall in 2001 that the Mariners won 116 games, and they played the Yankees in the ALCS.  I traveled to New York on business just before the series, and bet Doron that whoever’s team lost would have to wear the headgear of the winner’s team for a full day.

Now my plan was to purchase an attractive foam letter ‘M’ for Doron when I won the bet.  As you may remember, the Mariners lost, so I lost the bet.

When I was in the hospital back in July, Doron was in Seattle and came to visit me – which was great!  However I was obnoxious (and foolish) enough to remind him of the bet, and invited him to provide said headgear, fearing what he might choose to do.

It turns out Doron is a much nicer person than I am.  He had a nice Yankee cap shipped a few days later.  I’ve worn it going out a number of times.  When we spoke on the phone a couple of weeks ago, he told me that he wanted me to wear to it the ballpark.  That is, the SEATTLE ballpark.

While it would have been fair to wear it to a Yankee/Mariner game, I didn’t get to go see the Yankees when they were here several weeks back.  So I wore it for the mop-up A’s/Mariners game yesterday.

Mariners'_09-27-2008_with_Paul_002

I agree that it would have been sweeter payoff for Doron if I had worn it for a Yankee game, and I would have loved to have gone.  In any case, none of the 37 other fans attending yesterday’s game said a word about it.  Oh well.

Leave a Reply

