taking one on the jaw

Yesterday I spoke with an oral surgeon about how to realign my bite.  I’d thought that the break to my mandible was to blame for the misalignment.  According to this surgeon though, the problem is the way that the lower portion of the maxilla re-seated following the surgical repair to my facial bones.

skullbonesdiagram

He’s going to set me up with an orthodontist for some braces to realign my teeth (they’ve been adjusting to the incorrect alignment).  Then I’ll go in for surgery to re-break the maxilla just above my teeth.

I’ll have the braces for six weeks, and progress from a liquid diet for a week or two, as the bone heals.

Fun, huh?  The sooner the better though – before my teeth get more off-kilter.

Leave a Reply

