free radicals

So I’ve learned something about my mom.  She’s a radical!  Well – not radical, but definitely politically engaged.  A couple of weekends ago, she and her book club friends staged a rally in downtown Kirkland.  The rally was titled "Babes for Obama".  That might seem odd (it did to me anyway), but apparently it’s based on the name of the book club (The Literary Babes, or something resembling that).

Anyway, the rally was a big success despite Senator Joe Biden and Governor Christine Gregoire opting for a rally in Tacoma instead (apparently Tacoma is ‘redder’ than Kirkland, so better to try to shore it up).

The big surprise for me was picking up the local weekly and being greeted with my mother smiling on the front page.

babesforobama

That’s her sitting over on the right.

babesforobama-cutout

How would it make you feel if your mother called herself a "Babe"?  I never thought I’d run up against this question myself.  Still, I’m proud to be her son – even if she’s a Babe.

Leave a Reply

