coincidence

I’ve encountered two coincidences this week that just blow me away.

The other evening as I was leaving work, I ran into a woman I worked with for several years.  In addition to being a very good engineer, she’s a very nice person.  We stopped to chat for a few minutes.  She commented on how pleased she was that I’d recovered from my accident so well.  I told her how fortunate I was to have such supportive friends, family, and colleagues. 

Then she said "I saw your accident".  Apparently she was riding the bus to work, and she saw the accident happen.  She did not know it was me until later.  It was a strange moment for me.  I can think of questions to ask, but I was very overwhelmed by the thought of her having seen this happen.  Wow.

This morning, I experienced the second coincidence.  I was running a bit late to work, and was driving a bit fast.  I saw the Redmond Police car after he’d already caught me.  We pulled into a parking lot, and I got out of the car to get my ticket.  I noticed his nameplate, and the name was familiar to me.

I asked him whether he’d handled a bicycle accident on Old Redmond Road back in July.  Indeed he had.  I thanked him for his help at the scene, and also after – he had tried his best to cite the driver as substantially as possible, and had called Kris and I several times to let us know what was going on with the case.

He rightfully pointed out that I should have a pretty good idea of what speeding can do, but let me off.  We shook hands and parted.

I look forward to the day when I can go a full 24 hours without thinking about, or talking about the accident.  On the other hand, occurrences like these two things are rare opportunities.

Wow.

Leave a Reply

