happy father’s day

It’s a happy day for me.  This past year has definitely given me some new perspective on being a Dad.  It’s a big part of who I am, and has been a big part of my recovery.  There’s no better motivator than knowing your kids are looking to you, and learning about how you’re working through difficult times, and appreciating each other.

I remember my first Father’s Day, eleven years ago.  We celebrated in Anchorage, Alaska, a day after I ran my first marathon.  We also celebrated KK’s first birthday on that trip too.

This morning, the Northlake Unitarian Universalist Church is marking Father’s Day with talks from several dads in the congregation.  Originally, I thought I’d get off the hook, but my friend Mitch suggested videotaping mine.  It turned out to be a bit of work to do, but lots of fun.  Here’s what I came up with :

 

I had help from my two girls making this, inspirationally and also in the practical sense.

Here’s a picture taken of my father and I just after I completed The Light at the End of the Tunnel Marathon last week.  He’s been to each of the five marathons I’ve run since recovering.  He’s been a great role model to me, in showing his caring and love, through good times and not-so-good-times.  I love you Dad – thanks for everything you and Mom do!

I’m feeling very thankful today.  And yes – the nicest thing anyone’s ever called me is "daddy".

One response to “happy father’s day

Leave a Reply

