running in new york city

Having spent the past week in NYC, I’ve had the chance to visit some parts of it on foot.  While working, I made a point of getting up early and heading out for some runs.  Usually I kept it to between four and six miles, but it was a lot of fun.

I stayed up in midtown for three days last week.  I chose the hotel closest to Central Park, which allowed me to run without having to stop for many traffic signals.  For the most part, I’d head out from the Columbus Circle area, and head over to the east side of the park, and then go partway around the reservoir before heading back.  I’d round the morning routine out by stopping for a cappuccino before heading back to my room to wash up.  On Saturday, I went around the reservoir a couple of times, and then took a turn around the whole park too.  I rounded the distance out to probably 9 or 9 1/2 miles.  One my way out, I ended up running with a bunch of folks from the local Team in Training program.  It was great to see them out there, some training for their first marathon.  One my way back, I ended up running into the flow of runners participating in the Terry Fox Cancer Research 10k.  It made me wish I’d registered and run it too.  Great cause, and a nice venue for it.

This week, I worked in lower Manhattan, with a couple of other guys on my team.  We stayed in Tribeca, on the edge of Little Italy and Chinatown.  In the morning, I’d head out to cross the Brooklyn Bridge.  This was a nice way to start the run.  The bridge has a great pedestrian walkway, and provides a great place to watch the sunrise.  Yesterday I wound back around by ground zero before heading back.  This morning, I went there, down to St Paul’s church, before cutting over to the path along the West side Highway.  This was a great way to start the day – lots of people, decent scenery and landmarks to enjoy, and I kept a very easy pace too.

Running in New York City reminds me of why I love to run.  It’s a great way to connect with the world around me – even if I don’t say a word when I’m out.  Running with the other people, enjoying the landmarks, seeing the neighborhoods is a lot of fun.

Leave a Reply

