two years and thankful

Two years ago this morning, my life changed forever.  I was riding my bicycle to work and was hit by a person driving a pickup truck.  If you’re interested and have not yet read about it, you can read more about it here.

Last year, this anniversary marked a year of incredible recovery.  This year, it is a quiet reminder of how fortunate I am to be here, with people I love. 

I think about the accident each day.  My body and soul are both a bit different.  Our family is different too.

As I try to do generally, today I focused on the powerful life lessons that came from this, and the great love and support that have helped me recover.  I carry this inspiration with me each day. 

This morning I got on my bike, and traced the same route I rode on July 1, 2008.  After passing the site of the accident, I turned to the south and rode about a mile to station #12 of the Redmond Fire Department.  This was the station that responded to the call for my accident.

 IMG_2833

I introduced myself to them, and told them that at about the same time of the morning two years before, they’d saved my life.  I thanked them for what they did for me, and for what they do each day.  The lieutenant (at the far left in the picture above) remembered answering this call.  He told me they’d arrived just minutes after I’d been hit.  He was telling me about their time guidelines for response (called “7 7 7”) when a call came in and he had to leave.

The rest of the day was pretty routine.  I worked, went for a run, and spent the evening visiting with my cousins. 

Today was a good day.  Lots to be thankful for.

One response to “two years and thankful

Leave a Reply

